What Am I Selling? — This is not an Advertisement :)


Once again DungeonPrompts comes in with a blaster right to my head. This one is the prompt from a couple of weeks ago. The prompt put it bluntly:

“Put in plain and simple words what your agenda is.  What message is it that you’re selling?”

My ego wants to say “I’m not trying to sell anything.” My ego cannot imagine how I can put my reasons for sharing into short, simple words that you all will understand and accept. Well, as Tony Robbins says, “Ask the question and your brain will give you the answer.” No matter how reluctantly my ego would like me to, once asked it can’t be unasked.

The answer is, I’m selling this:

Live in this moment, free of the control of fear, feeling good and filled with love.

All the blah blah blah that has filled my brain for the four and half decades I have been on this planet comes back to this:

My life is happening right now and if I don’t have time to live it right I definitely don’t have time to live it wrong.

If there is something in my life that is keeping me from my goal I need to focus on that and make some changes. No matter what excuses I have for living a shitty life, I am the only one who is going to change it, so I must set aside my belly aching, excuses for not changing, and damaged ego to make my life different. The only thing in my way is my own resistance to change.

I’m telling my story and sharing my wisdom because I know that my story needs to be told. It may inspire, support, and guide you so you can do the same. I know I will be given gratitude and abundance returned from giving of my knowledge, time, and support because God will support and encourage me when I am living according to my highest and best. These are not the only reasons I’m telling my story. They are not even the primary reasons. Everything in this blog is first written for me and then shared with you.

I’m telling my story so I don’t backslide into behaviors, attitudes, and beliefs that don’t make me happy. I’m telling them so other people know that I am committed to the changes I’ve made. I’m committed to living a self-realized, excuse-free life filled with humility, gratitude, and patience. For me, telling my story is part of that life.

In my life I intend to, among other things, love, learn, grow, support, guide, lead, cultivate, create, and thrive. This blog is about me living and not being afraid. I post here not to demonstrate my lack of fear but to demonstrate living. You see, I am not scared of rejection or censure. I am not scared of belittlement or disparaging comments. These may come from my sharing of my truth in a public forum. My ego may rattle in the cage of my skull with my perceived lack of perfection, but ultimately I am only frightened by the “little-death” described in the Litany Against Fear from the book Dune by Frank Herbert:

“I must not fear.
Fear is the mind-killer.
Fear is the little-death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my fear.
I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see its path.
Where the fear has gone there will be nothing….only I will remain”

For the only thing to fear is fear itself.

So I’m selling myself on living this Litany, and I want for you who read, hear, or feel my words the same thing I want for myself. I want to spread the word that your life is happening right now and that while many of us have known traumatic times, abuse, and discounting, we have only to look inward and make changes to our beliefs, attitudes, and behaviors to adjust ourselves to our highest and best. We each have the power of decision to change ourselves to end our suffering and live. This blog carries my message first to myself, and then to you. For you I recommend that you take what you like and leave the rest.

Thank you for reading my blog. I am feeling more and more blessed by sharing my story.

2 thoughts on “What Am I Selling? — This is not an Advertisement :)

Leave a Reply

