Work-Life Balance Seminar Update


Welcome! Today I’m writing about my fears about, and commitment to, my seminar on work-life integration.

I’ve gotten tons of positive feedback on the seminar, I’ve had people mention their interest in it, I’ve had the seminar recommended to several people, and yet I have only one person signed up.

As you can imagine this has part of me “concerned.” That part is my ego. My ego keeps trying to convince me there is a problem — that in two weeks, no one will show up. But I know the truth — there is no problem, because “two weeks from now” doesn’t exist except in my imagination. There is only now. I need not fear something that doesn’t exist. In times like this I love to remind myself of The Litany Against Fear written by Frank Herbert in his book DUNE when I begin to feel fear.

LitanyAgainstFear

Since the seminar isn’t happening today, and I know that in this moment I have only my intention about the seminar, I have no reason to fear anything. Also, I’m aware that my intention is that this seminar is my gift to myself first and to others second. Therefore, if other people don’t share in my gift, I lose out on nothing. I’m going to run the seminar anyway. Even if no one else shows up.

You see, my ego is deathly afraid of no one showing up. However, I know the fear of abandonment is based on a projection of the future and a belief in separateness. I will let the future take care of itself. I will be grateful, humble, and open to whomever shows up in each moment, as I do not know what will come of it.

I am not afraid of two weeks from now, because I know that creating this seminar and putting myself out there is right for me no matter what will happen. It will all end up being the right thing.

I share this determination with you today in response to my ego, so that there is no question between him and me about what is going to happen. I want everyone to know that I’m going ahead with the seminar because I know that the struggle is real for many people who are trying to find happiness and serenity in a crazy and demanding corporate America —

  • a place where the story of hard work is fostered by people who are dependent upon others for their success,
  • a place where the obvious and shared story is that we have to work hard in order to learn how to do our jobs well so we can be successful so we can be happy, and
  • a story where we have to abandon our happiness in the name of finding it, because we perceive a world where happiness and accomplishment are contradictory.

The obvious conclusion from such a version of reality is that any attempt at work-life balance must come with a sacrifice.

So if you think you struggle with work-life balance, if you believe you should make a change in your work life, or if you just want to get more out of life but are afraid to make a leap, I understand completely. It may be that you feel that you will need to make further sacrifices in the name of “balance”.

And this is why I must proceed with the seminar, despite my fears. In living free of fear, shame, and guilt, I must learn that to accomplish my goals, achieve results, and be happy, I need sacrifice nothing, for those feelings are all projections and perceptions that keep me stuck in life.

This seminar, and all possible outcomes of it, are for that purpose. I don’t know what actually is going on for you right now. If you are stuck in fear, guilt, or shame around work, I hope you can face that fear and come to the seminar, for I know that place.

Therein lies my message to you. This seminar is ultimately not about problems of maintaining work-life balance, it’s about you knowing the truth about you — the truth that you are able to be happy and content, and live life the way you want to.

The topics we’ll cover will be tools to help you guide your decision making. The elements of discussion during the day will give you new perspectives, or validate ones you already have. The skills I’ll share will help you structure your time and support you in being true to yourself. Our time together will be filled with laughter, serious discussion, and new learning.

My main goal in sharing this content is to share my beliefs that

  • I deserve a content and happy life filled with achievements and accomplishments,
  • no matter how hard people decide to work, they are enough, and
  • we can discover that no matter what balance we choose between our work, family, spiritual, and social activities, we can achieve our goals and meet our needs.

I do at this moment make one commitment to those who attend my seminar — I will give you my full attention.

If you don’t know the details yet, the seminar on July 19th from 9am – 5:30pm at the Lake City Community Center in Seattle, WA. E-mail me at djkester [at] gmail [dot] com to sign up. Also, you can go to the event page on my Facebook page to sign up there as well.

6 thoughts on “Work-Life Balance Seminar Update

  1. I love your commitment to yourself and to those whom you will teach.
    I appreciate your ability to stay positive and move forward no matter the circumstances.

  2. I get the feeling that the seminar will be successful regardless of what happens. I wish you the best with everything!

    All your posts are very inspirational to me, and therefore I have decided to nominate you for the Very Inspiring Blogger award!

    If you choose to participate, here are the rules:
    Thank and link to the person who nominated you.
    List the rules and display the award.
    Share seven facts about yourself.
    Nominate 15 other amazing blogs and comment on their posts to let them know they have been nominated.
    Proudly display the award logo on your blog and follow the blogger who nominated you.

    Congrats, and I wish you all the best!

Leave a Reply

