Trains Trains Trains…


Welcome! It is with great love that I hope for you that in this moment you are happy and feeling good.

It has been a while since I blogged, but I have been busy all this time living, loving, and learning. So I have more stories to tell you all.

Today I’m writing about part of an excellent business trip I took to Italy last month. It was a wonderful trip, and, since it was my first to Europe, it was full of learning.

I knew that in Europe they have a lot of trains, so I was excited to travel by train there. I planned on my final day there to take a trip from Turin to Milan. This is about a fifty-minute train ride.

When I arrived at the train station, incredibly early compared to the locals, I checked for my train number on the departure screen. I found it was leaving from Platform 2. I headed down there with plenty of time to spare. I was standing on the platform for about 15 minutes.

As expected, the train rolls up. I look at the display on the side of the train car. It says Milan C. Le. That stands for “Milan Central Train Station”. I’m kind of excited for my first train trip in Europe. I get on the train. I’m booked into first class. The train conductor in First Class looks at my ticket and directs me to my seat.

Another passenger, who thankfully spoke English, tells me it’s her seat, but she doesn’t care because she is sitting in a different seat. I think, “Wait, some other passenger has my seat assignment too?” We both laugh, “Haha, this silly train company put us in the same seat.” She then told me that this had never happened to her before. It really doesn’t seem to matter because there a lot of empty seats. I take the seat and settle in for the short ride.

Soon, we are cruising along and I’m really enjoying the ride. I’m comfortably writing an email to my wife when another conductor comes up to check our tickets.

He says something to me in Italian … I say, I don’t speak Italian. He says, “Oh, Ok. You are on the wrong train.”

I’m like, “Oh no”. He has a look of irritation on his face. He informs me that I will need to pay full price for a ticket and there is a penalty for getting on board without a ticket. I’m trying not to laugh so he knows I’m taking him seriously. But I’m starting to giggle inside.

He continues to inform me that I’m on the train before the one I’m supposed to be on. I’m on the 8:00am to Milan not the 8:12am. I’m chuckling at my mistake but trying to not come across as flippant about the rules.

I have my wallet out to pay whatever the fees are. He says that he won’t charge me the penalty. I thank him, still with wallet in hand ready to pay for whatever ticket I need to buy.

He looks at me and then writes something on his sheet. “Don’t worry about it, just be more careful in the future.” He lets me off the hook from paying the fees and buying a new ticket. He was a really nice guy even though I was just another American to him.

After he walks away I’m laughing from joy. I’m not sure that I was supposed to be having this much fun being on the wrong train.

Even if I’m still going to where I planned to go, it felt like such an adventure.

The rest of the day was much the same. Being out of place walking for miles around Milan. The entire day I knew that it mattered not where I went. I would be in the right place.

When I got back to my hotel that evening I was tired, excited, and happy.

I’ve been told that when I am in the right frame of mind and in the right place, I can really be anywhere, doing anything, and be happy and joyful. My first trip to Milan was just such an experience.

May love and joy hold you in each and every moment of your life.

4 thoughts on “Trains Trains Trains…

  1. I love your story! Reminded me some of my experience of being an (inadvertant) train hopper. Also reminded me of getting on the wrong train in India many years ago.

  2. What a wonderful story, Dave! And what a beautiful lesson – no matter where you go, you’re always in the right place. I’ll try to remember that the next time I’m sad.
    And I’ve missed you.<3

Leave a Reply

