A Mundane Glimpse Of My Soul


Welcome! This post is a response to another DungeonPrompt. This week’s prompt is: Entertain With The Mundane.

The instructions provided with each of the DungeonPrompts always includes: “Dive deep within and give us a glimpse of your soul!**” So here goes…

I think that there is a perfection in the juxtaposition of “mundane” and “glimpse of my soul,” so I wanted to share with you this story that I think best reveals a mundane glimpse of my soul.

Like many people I take a shower, almost everyday. For me the shower is a wondrous place. I feel renewed and refreshed in the shower; I feel joy and happiness and I let my inner self out, mostly unfiltered. It is a great place to reflect on life. I can think through almost any problem or issue there.

I’ve developed a habit of talking to myself in the shower; I’m not often aware of when I’m talking out loud and when I’m not. The shower is a place where I just ramble about whatever I’m thinking, as I’m thinking it. It’s a great place to sing, explain, tell jokes to myself, etc…

A few weeks ago I was enjoying a shower when my wife leaned around the corner and asked, “Did your butt get clean?” I was puzzled, but confirmed it had. To which she made the laughing reply, “Well, that’s good, you dork.”  Apparently, just prior to this I had announced out loud that I was cleaning my butt. I may have even been singing about it, but she never made that clear.

Now as you are reading this, you may be wondering, “What kind of person sings about cleaning his undercarriage?” Well, I’m that guy.

[I realize that with this post it may be the last time I’m allowed to reply to the DungeonPrompt.  🙂 (j/k)]

As some of you know, I’m a manager of project managers. A lot of the work is pretty mundane. I’ve made a few videos on my video blog to explain some project management topics, but like this week’s post, they blend the mundane with a glimpse of my goofy soul to form infotainment. You can check them out at here.

I am glad that I live in a life where I can feel free to express myself and not be self-conscious about it. I am happy to be free to let out my joy and happiness about being alive.

17 thoughts on “A Mundane Glimpse Of My Soul

  1. I am also a shower expresser. Usually I’ll be thinking about the previous days events and I will just let out all kinds of groaning noises that are expressions of, “I can’t believe you said that,” “I am still upset with that guy,” “I forgot to soak the beans last night” etc. Usually I completely forget that it will sound like I am crying to my roommates. Nice post. You can always let the goofy out in the dungeon! That’s what it’s here for

  2. As you know, I love your writing Dave. Therefore, I have nominated you for the One Lovely Blog award! I don’t know if you know about that award, and others like it,but its a way for bloggers to receive appreciation for their writing and to also let the world know about the blogs you like a lot.

    If you are interested in learning more and/or participating in the award process go to: http://livinglearningandlettinggo.wordpress.com/2014/04/06/one-lovely-blog-award/.

  3. I found my way to you blog through Karuna. And am SO glad I did. Your post made me laugh. My ex-husband has much the same mundane soul expression or shower expression. Now I have more reading of yours to do.

  4. The topping on the cake that is your post is your wife (I assume) chiming in that you *were* singing. Ha! Thanks for the reminder to be myself wherever I am.

Leave a comment